Beasts of Burgundy - Out March 23, 2018


Wanderers, boogiers, strangers – unite!  The end is nigh but a beginning is in sight.  These troubled times are easy to get you down, so seek your refuge in loftier sounds!  This year has the Squirrel Nut Zippers roaming the lands, warding off evil, telling sweet lies, and making a joyful racket, on wax and on wheels.

ALBUM - Beasts Of Burgundy

Beasts Of Burgundy is the first Squirrel Nut Zippers studio album in seventeen years.  Twelve original new songs from the mind of Jimbo Mathus and the Squirrel Nut Zippers.  Inspired by the city of New Orleans, the poet Ron Cuccia, and a disregard for convention, the bands latest studio release will be released on March 23rd, on Southern Broadcasting.

The first single from the album “Karnival Joe (From Kokomo)” comes directly from Jimbo’s interest in carney folk.  “I’ve always been fascinated by Sideshows and carnivals,” remarked Mathus. “Karnival Joe was inspired by an obscure recording from Dr. Souchon and from reading about the the old Cayetano Circus Of New Orleans.”

A return to form, the album embraces the city that first inspired the group.  “The Zippers have always been full of outlandish characters which provide great self referential material for songs” Mathus remarked.  “The new revival of the band is no exception and, since we rehearsed the new show on Burgundy St in New Orleans, I thought of this title and story about the ‘Beasts’ who accidentally miss Mardi Gras.”

As a matter of record, Beasts Of Burgundy was recorded in an abandoned wine cellar, just underneath the streets of the French Quarter.  Purportedly this was the last hideout of  Jean Pierre Laffite, the famed Pirate of the Caribbean who called New Orleans home.  Liberated spirits from the trunks of the ancients - the album is chocked full of the mysterious sounds and voices from another time.  Available in an Online Store or Record Shoppe near you!   Praise be to Squirrels.

Beast Of Burgundy Track Listing

1. Conglomeration of Curios
2. Karnival Joe From Kokomo
3. Pay Me Now (or Pay Me Later)
4. Beasts of Burgundy
5. Hey Shango!
6. Something Wicked (pt.2) 
7. West of Zanzibar
8. Rusty Trombone
9. Use What Mama Gave You
10. Axeman Jazz
11. Something Wicked (pt.1) 
12. Fade 


Wanderers from the Woods emerge and dance again!  Uplifting sounds will temporarily make you impervious to the weight of the world.  Our fearless leader Jimbo Mathus steadfast at the wheel, keeps the band on course and on time, regaling our friends with nights of song and story, in hamlets far and near.  Turn to the bands Tour page to find a date near you.  Strangers Welcome!


Look for new merch designs, tchotchkes, bric-a-brac at our band Store.  Write your congress-person, call Hollywood records on your land line – demand the SNZ catalog on Vinyl!  Tell us what you crave, and your mission shall be ours!


The Squirrel Nut Zippers began their musical journey in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, in the mid 1990’s, as a musician’s escape from the cookie cutter world of modern rock radio at the time.  Jimbo Mathus along with drummer/percussionist Chris Phillips formed the band as a casual musical foray among friends and family in the area.  It wasn’t long before the band’s quirky mix of jazz chords, folk music, and punk rock leanings spread out of the region and attracted a national audience.

Between 1995-2000 the Squirrel Nut Zippers sold over three million albums.  Their watershed album, Hot (1996) was recorded in the heat of New Orleans, fueled by a smoldering mix of booze and a youthful hunger to unlock the secrets of old world jazz.  This passion mixed with klezmer, blues and random bits of contemporary musical leanings became the bands signature style.  At the time, there were few other bands inhabiting this space.  The album would eventually break free of any “jazz” stereotypes and land on commercial radio, taking the band to remarkable heights for what was essentially an anti-establishment sound.

Years later and through chronicles of every kind, the band has emerged from a lengthy recording hiatus, invigorated, invested, and rejuvenated.  “It’s not a reunion, it’s a revival” has been the battle cry for Mathus since reforming the group in 2016.  With an all star cast of New Orleans musicians, the band breathed new life in to the old material, and inspired Mathus to return to the studio to reignite the band’s unique, enigmatic sound.